News & Announcements Archive

Stephen Fried Receives NIH New Innovator Award

Congratulations to Professor Stephen Fried for receiving an NIH New Innovator Award!  The award “ supports exceptionally creative early career investigators who propose innovative, high-impact projects in the biomedical, behavioral or social sciences within […]

Professors Jungsan Sohn & Jamie Spangler Receive Catalyst Awards

Congratulations to CBI preceptors Jungsan Sohn and Jamie Spangler, who where chosen among 36 Hopkins professors to receive 2020 Johns Hopkins Catalyst Awards!

Stephen Fried Receives Research Corporation for Science Advancement

Congratulations to CBI faculty member Stephen Fried for receiving a grant from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement to study the virus that causes COVID-19.  Stephen and his co-investigators will look for […]

Morgan Dasovich Receives Roger McMacken Scholarship Award

Congratulations to Morgan Dasovich for receiving the Inaugural Roger McMacken Scholarship Award.  This award is made in recognition of scholastic and research achievements by exceptional students working for mentors in the BMB department.

Ryan Weeks Joins DiPole’s N95 Mask Effort

Ryan Weeks of the Ostermeier Lab was one of thirteen Hopkins students who joined DiPole Materials in an effort to rapidly manufacture masks made from similar material as N95 masks.

In memoriam: Dr. Francine Morris, 1978-2020

With deep regret we would like to inform the community of Dr. Francine Morris’ passing last week. She arrived at JHU in 2008 to pursue a Ph.D. in the Chemistry Biology Interface […]

Isabel Uribe Awarded JCS Traveling Fellowship

Congratulations to Isabel Uribe again!  She was recently awarded a Journal of Cell Science Traveling fellowship to support a visit to a long-term collaborator of the Leung laboratory.

Isabel Uribe Receives Honorable Mention for NSF Graduate Fellowship

Congratulations to CBI student Isabel Uribe (Leung Lab), who received an honorable mention for the NSF Graduate Fellowship!

Morgan Dasovich Awarded Elsa Orent Keiles Fellowship

Congratulations to CBI student Morgan Dasovich (Leung Lab), who was recently awarded the Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Department’s Elsa Orent Keiles fellowship. The Elsa Orent Keiles fellowship was established in […]

Fall 2019 CBI Thesis Defenses

Congratulations to Sabrina Schatzman (Culotta Lab), Shane Byrne (Rokita Lab), and Cedric Moore (Zhu Lab) on successfully defending their dissertations! See below for thesis titles: Sabrina Schatzman –“Fungal Cu-only SODs, […]