News & Announcements Archive

CBI Preceptors Receive Discovery Awards

Congratulations to Netz Arroyo, Scott Bailey, Jennifer Kavran, Anthony Leung, Jun Liu, Rebecca Schulman, and Cynthia Wolberger.  All received Discovery Awards to support new research collaborations.

Stephen Fried Receives NIH New Innovator Award

Congratulations to Professor Stephen Fried for receiving an NIH New Innovator Award!  The award “ supports exceptionally creative early career investigators who propose innovative, high-impact projects in the biomedical, behavioral or social sciences within the NIH mission.”

Stephen Fried Receives Research Corporation for Science Advancement

Congratulations to CBI faculty member Stephen Fried for receiving a grant from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement to study the virus that causes COVID-19.  Stephen and his co-investigators will look for ways to block an important mechanism that is related to viral replication and could lead to a new family of antiviral drugs effective against  SARS-CoV-2, SARS, MERS, Zika, […]

Morgan Dasovich Receives Roger McMacken Scholarship Award

Congratulations to Morgan Dasovich for receiving the Inaugural Roger McMacken Scholarship Award.  This award is made in recognition of scholastic and research achievements by exceptional students working for mentors in the BMB department.

Ryan Weeks Joins DiPole’s N95 Mask Effort

Ryan Weeks of the Ostermeier Lab was one of thirteen Hopkins students who joined DiPole Materials in an effort to rapidly manufacture masks made from similar material as N95 masks.

In memoriam: Dr. Francine Morris, 1978-2020

With deep regret we would like to inform the community of Dr. Francine Morris’ passing last week. She arrived at JHU in 2008 to pursue a Ph.D. in the Chemistry Biology Interface Graduate Program and joined the Freel Meyers laboratory for research.  Her dissertation entitled “Studies Toward Selective Inhibition of DXP Synthase in Non-mammalian Isoprenoid Biosynthesis” was completed in July 2013.  She […]

Isabel Uribe Awarded JCS Traveling Fellowship

Congratulations to Isabel Uribe again!  She was recently awarded a Journal of Cell Science Traveling fellowship to support a visit to a long-term collaborator of the Leung laboratory.