Skip to main content

People

  • faculty

  • Scott Bailey

  • James Barrow

    • 410-955-0894
    • jbarrow@jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Medicinal chemistry and drug discovery, especially for diseases of the central nervous system
  • James Berger

    • 410-955-7163
    • jmberger@jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Structural and catalytic mechanisms of nucleic-acid machines and assemblies; control of DNA replication and chromosome superstructure; small-molecule and biological regulatory mechanisms.
  • Valeria Culotta

    • 410-955-3029
    • vculott1@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Cellular transport and trafficking of heavy metals, antioxidant enzymes
  • Dominique Frueh

    • 410-614-4719
    • dfrueh1@jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Applying NMR spectroscopy to the study of protein motions in large molecules
  • David Goldberg

    • 410-516-6658
    • dpg@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Synthetic analogs of heme and non-heme Fe and Mn centers, mechanistic studies involving M=O, M-O2, M-NO and related species
  • Marc Greenberg

    • 410-516-8095
    • mgreenberg@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Chemical, biochemical, and biological studies on nucleic acid damage and DNA repair in free DNA and nucleosomes, design of radiosensitizing agents, inhibitors of DNA repair enzymes, and molecules that enable the spatiotemporal control of nucleic acid structure
  • Vincent Hilser

    • 410-516-6072
    • hilser@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Structural and dynamic basis for molecular recognition, catalysis, and allostery
  • Christian Kaiser

    • 410-516-4486
    • kaiser@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Protein folding, translation and translocation with single-molecule approaches
  • Kenneth Karlin

    • 410-516-8027
    • karlin@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Bioinorganic chemistry; copper and heme biomimetic O2 and nitrogen oxide chemistry; peptide metal complex chemistry
  • Jennifer Kavran

    • 410-955-3671
    • jkavran@jhu.edu
    • 615 N. Wolfe Street, W3116
    • Research Interests: Structural and biochemical studies of the molecular mechanisms of signaling pathways
  • Juliette Lecomte

    • 410-516-7019
    • juliette@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Determinants of protein structure and dynamics in solution; NMR spectroscopy of heme proteins
  • Yuan Chuan Lee

    • 410-516-7041
    • yclee@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Glycoproteins, glycolipids, and cell-surface substances
  • Anthony Leung

    • 410-502-8939
    • aleung6@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Biology behind poly(ADP-ribose) (PAR)—the third polynucleotide besides DNA and RNA. Research includes (1) developing new chemical and proteomics tools to study PAR, (2) identifying predictive biomarkers for cancer therapy with PAR polymerase (PARP) inhibitors, and (3) discovering novel roles of PAR in non-coding RNA biology and non-membranous cellular structures
  • Jun Liu

    • 410-955-4619
    • joliu@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Use of small molecules as probes to elucidate mechanisms of signal transduction; angiogenesis and cell proliferation
  • Caren Freel Meyers

    • 410-502-4807
    • cmeyers8@bs.jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Development of antibiotic prodrug strategies; study of bacterial isoprenoid and vitamin biosynthesis as antibacterial targets
  • Marc Ostermeier

    • 410-516-7144
    • osterm@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Protein engineering, directed evolution, allostery
  • Steve Rokita

    • 410-516-5793
    • rokita@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Sequence and conformation specific reactions of nucleic acids; enzyme-mediated activation of substrates and coenzymes for dehalogenation
  • Ron Schnaar

    • 410-955-8392
    • schnaar@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Cell surface molecular interactions (cell-cell recognition) and the control of cell behaviors in the nervous system (axon regeneration) and immune system (inflammation); Glycobiology
  • Jungsan Sohn

    • 410-614-6134
    • jsohn@jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Mechanistic enzymology and X-ray crystallography; structure and function of allosterically regulated biological stress-sensors
  • James Stivers

    • 410-502-2758
    • jstivers@jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Fundamental mechanisms of DNA-protein recognition, role of dNTP pools and DNA repair in cancer and viral infections, directed inhibitor design
  • Joel Tolman

    • 410-516-8022
    • jtolman@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Biomolecular recognition, structural genomics, experimental and theoretical NMR
  • John Toscano

    • 410-516-8215
    • jtoscano@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: New precursors to NO and HNO, NO-releasing materials, the potential role of HNO in the treatment of heart failure
  • Craig Townsend

    • 410-516-7444
    • ctownsend@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Natural product chemistry, enzymology and molecular biology, fatty acid synthase inhibitors for cancer, tuberculosis and obesity
  • Herschel Wade

    • 410-502-5629
    • herschel.wade@jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Molecular switch energetics-landscapes and allosteric mechanisms, molecular recognition principles of multidrug resistance proteins
  • Cynthia Wolberger

    • 410-955-0728
    • cwolberg@jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Biochemical, biophysical and structural studies on enzymes involved in ubiquitin signaling and transcription regulation
  • Sarah Woodson

    • 410-516-2015
    • swoodson@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: RNA folding and catalysis; dynamics of small regulatory RNAs; mechanism of 30S ribosome assembly by time resolved footprinting
  • Heng Zhu

    • 410-502-0878
    • hzhu4@bs.jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Develops and applies the protein chip technology to investigate important biological questions and to help clinical research. Research focus includes networks and pathways of protein posttranslational modifications, gene transcription regulatory networks, pathogen-host interaction networks, and biomarker discovery.